Wouk


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for Wouk

United States writer (born in 1915)

Synonyms

References in periodicals archive ?
Of one phase of the Midway battle, Wouk writes, "It was a perfect coordinated attack.
Born in New York to Russian immigrants who had settled in the Bronx, Wouk was inspired by Mark Twain as a boy and went to Columbia University, where he studied comparative literature and philosophy.
Wouk died in his sleep at his home in Palm Springs, California, just 10 days before his 104th birthday.
Navy, the novelist Herman Wouk (in The Caine Mutiny), and even vintage Burma Shave signs.
Later offerings in 2017 bring the much awaited compilation of Cornell's popular David Kinchen and Kelly Dolan stories of the ad game in the tradition of John Updike's "Rabbit" and Herman Wouk's "Youngblood Hawke" works.
The film was based on the 1955 novel of the same name by Herman Wouk, which I loved.
One of his most eminent devotees was the author Herman Wouk, whose This is My God (1959) was penned under Jung's mentorship.
President, cannot heal the past by charging a 100 percent Jew Tax." A long silence, and then Herman Wouk gives me a big kick under the table.
Indeed, one of the particularly valuable qualities of Young Lions is the attention Garrett pays to the currently unfashionable writers Herman Wouk and Leon Uris.
Herman Wouk is Still Alive is the backstory to a horrific car crash.
Douglas 'Duggie' Pomford HAILING from Toxteth, Douglas 'Duggie' Pomford was a World War II Commando whose wartime exploits wouldn't look out of place in a Herman Wouk novel.
Wouk (1998, 2001) analyzes two clause-final particles used in expressing solidarity in social interaction.
By that measure, postwar America's middlebrow culture, a culture whose achievements often mistook the second-rate for top-tier work--see, for example, the novels of Herbert Gold, Herman Wouk, James Michener, Edna Ferber, Irving Stone, and John Steinbeck, to name a few--appears almost to have been a golden age.