James Fenimore Cooper


Also found in: Dictionary, Medical, Acronyms, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for James Fenimore Cooper

United States novelist noted for his stories of American Indians and the frontier life (1789-1851)

Synonyms

References in periodicals archive ?
1, trace Austen's legatees from James Fenimore Cooper and Elizabeth Gaskell to contemporary novelists Carol Shields and Ian McEwan.
Formerly a mansion, and decorated with sumptuous antique furniture, it boasts an impressive list of literary visitors, including Milton, Ibsen and Last Of The Mohicans author James Fenimore Cooper, and the West Wing was the birthplace of Italian poet Torquato Tasso.
No, not James Fenimore Cooper (of whose Deerslayer Mark Twain said, "its humor is pathetic; its pathos is funny; its conversations are--oh
My favourite authors include Mary Renault, Rosemary Sutcliff, James Fenimore Cooper, Neil Gaiman, Hilary Mantel and Alan Garner.
The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper The blockbuster king loves this Native American adventure - but it was Michael Mann who directed the famous film with Daniel Day Lewis
The names range from James Jackson and John Taylor of Caroline to James Fenimore Cooper, Grover Cleveland, H.
She was awarded the James Fenimore Cooper Prize for Best Historical Fiction in 2009.
history, such as Samuel Morse, James Fenimore Cooper, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Charles Sumner, wander in and out of McCullough's tale as the decades unfold.
The series presents peer-reviewed studies on literature in the US from the adoption of the Constitution in 1789 to the death of novelist James Fenimore Cooper in 1851.
Twain," and matching the Circle's finest (Kerry Driscoll, Bruce Michelson, and John Bird) against the James Fenimore Cooper Society's best-they-had-to-offer (Wayne Franklin, Matt Sivils, and Signe Wegener).
While the traditional story of American conservation begins in the late nineteenth century and centers on the protection of natural resources from various forms of exploitation, only a few individuals are typically highlighted from earlier periods for their contributions to the rise of conservation, most notably Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, or James Fenimore Cooper.
A prolific author of historical adventures and romances in the tradition of Sir Walter Scott and James Fenimore Cooper, Cooke's work holds a significant place in Virginia's literary history and in nineteenth-century American literary culture.
In addition to unpacking the influence of British writers such as Sir Walter Scott and Thomas Campbell on James Fenimore Cooper, Fulford shows, through a description of Felicia Hemans' and Cooper's reciprocal borrowings, how Romantic Indians cycled many times around the Atlantic, gradually losing their complexity and connection to revolutionary critique in the meantime as they were made to recede poetically before the progress of white civilization.
Influential literary figures such as Washington Irving, Timothy Dwight and James Fenimore Cooper capitalized on the new enthusiasm for tourism in New York by incorporating locales and references familiar or useful to travelers into their writings.