expatriate

(redirected from Expatriot)
Also found in: Dictionary, Legal, Financial.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • all
  • noun
  • adj
  • verb

Synonyms for expatriate

Synonyms for expatriate

to force to leave a country or place by official decree

one forced to emigrate, usually for political reasons

Synonyms

Synonyms for expatriate

a person who is voluntarily absent from home or country

expel from a country

Synonyms

Antonyms

move away from one's native country and adopt a new residence abroad

Related Words

References in periodicals archive ?
Christina Pato, a Galician piper, has toured worldwide but is a newcomer to British venues, Angel Brothers, now without Satnam Singh but with Becky Driscoll and Harprit Singh Sahota, the John James Trio with Benji Kirkpatrick and Seth Lakeman, Bob Fox, Pegleg Ferret, Maggie Boyle's new group The Expatriot Game, Whapweasel, Pete Morton, Dave Burland and Stanley Accrington are just for starters.
A different and more "literary" class of thrillers is the psychological spy story (Denning), a story in the tradition of Graham Greene or John Le Carre that employs the plot of a thriller in order to narrate the existential crisis of an Israeli or Western spy or expatriot who lives in an alienating world (Eric Ambler's The Levanter, Morris West's The Tower of Babel, Le Carre's The Little Drummer Girl, Andrew Osmond's Saladin
Officials at the Foreign Office and British Embassy in Madrid were last night trying to establish details of Brown's detention, which has sent shockwaves through the expatriot racing community on the Costa del
The Internet is an increasingly important tool in marketing and selling culinary brands to the expatriot market.
and some foreign countries for expatriot tax work," says Peterson.
Details of other expatriot Scots involved in the British North American book trade can be found in George L.
88) Similarly, the Calgary Daily Herald some weeks earlier took issue with what it termed "Fairy Stories" originating in Bellingham, Washington, which predicted a veritable stampede of expatriot Americans "who are not used to extreme cold experienced on the windswept regions of the Alberta country.
World Championship mistake: Palmdale expatriot Lance Hooper suffered an early setback when the sponsor decal on the hood of his Pontiac came loose and threatened to fly up and block his view.
Craig Brown's France 98 heroes could delight a huge expatriot community by sealing a deal to play in Canada on tour early next summer.
The description of Reni's feminine style sounds very much like Malvasia's own account of Reni's first teacher, the Flemish expatriot Denijs Calvaert.
The canon they regularly invoked--Joyce, Kafka, Gide, Silone, Orwell, Dostoyevsky and the expatriot Henry James--constituted an international "intelligentsia," a term that has never made much sense in the American context except during those yers.
My contact was an Australian expatriot who helped manage the business, acting as an intermediary by putting the locals in touch with buyers and helping them to export their products.
Maggie Boyle's new band with Duck Baker and Ben Paley - The Expatriot Game - will be performing an evening of Irish and American traditional music on September 26 at the Love Apple.
Clients mostly hail from Nairobi's expatriot community whose ranks are boosted by an estimated 1,000 Irish.
For example, in 1799 James Kidston advertised a book stock which, to judge from the Scottish authors named, would have warmed the hearts of educated, expatriot Scots and on this occasion, the shipment probably came from Glasgow.