Artemus Ward


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for Artemus Ward

United States writer of humorous tales of an itinerant showman (1834-1867)

References in periodicals archive ?
In a recent study of the role of law clerks in the United States Supreme Court, political scientists Artemus Ward and David L Weiden settle on a new metaphor.
21) It was to Smith, too, that Browne's British publisher compared him in the introduction to the British edition of Artemus Ward, His Book.
Before getting down to business, he read out a short humorous piece by Artemus Ward, alias Charles Farrar Browne, which deals with a travelling showman running into trouble for exhibiting among his wax figures one of the false disciple Judas Iscariot.
Harper's Weekly, May 2, 1903), hazing practices at West Point ("Mark Twain on Hazing," the New York Times, January 20, 1901), copyright laws, Artemus Ward, presidential campaigns, England, Bret Harte, the author's appreciation of the Millicent Library in Fairhaven, Massachusetts, work habits ("Mark Twain on His Methods of Work," the Bombay Gazette, January 23, 1896), Shakespeare, crime in the western territories, travel by railroad, travel by sea, children, and laziness.
Comic paragraphs from his Tribune column, "Odds and Ends," formed his first book, The Tribune Primer (1882), journalistic joking in the tradition of Artemus Ward and Josh Billings.
Inslee quoted Artemus Ward, who said, "Let us all be happy and live within our means, even if we have to borrow the money to do it with.
Typical of the style of humor favored by Americans of the period was that of Charles Farrar Browne, who wrote under the name of Artemus Ward.
When they attracted no attention, Billings discovered the contemporaneous key to success by studying <IR> ARTEMUS WARD </IR> and adopting misspelling as the cap-and-bells to his wit and wisdom.
He was influenced, in turn, by Artemus Ward, Bret Harte, Augustus Baldwin Longstreet, and G.
After working for several New England newspapers, Browne moved to Ohio, where he contributed his first Artemus Ward letters to the Cleveland Plain Dealer in 1858.
I have already given two cousins to the war,' quipped humorist Artemus Ward, "and I stand reddy to sacrifiss my wife's brother.
It is more a history of the times than a biography of the people, as seen through Walt Whitman, Artemus Ward, Ada Clare, Edwin Booth, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Alfred Bierstadt, Mark Twain, and others less remembered but just as interesting, as well as those connected with them.
Foundation member Jason Kusy, a teacher at Wachusett Regional High School, said Auburn has a long tradition of honoring veterans, from its founding as Ward, named after Revolutionary War hero Artemus Ward, to the naming of Veterans Memorial Corridor and Kusy Square, named after his uncle David Kusy, who was killed in the Vietnam War.
The humor itself was varied, sometimes in the vein of the Southwestern yarn spinners, sometimes in that of contemporaneous humorists such as Artemus Ward and Josh Billings, who chiefly used burlesque and parody and other verbal devices.
He was a representative of American humor at its most characteristic, a direct follower of <IR> BILL NYE </IR> , <IR> ARTEMUS WARD </IR> , and <IR> MARK TWAIN </IR> .