Artemus Ward


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for Artemus Ward

United States writer of humorous tales of an itinerant showman (1834-1867)

References in periodicals archive ?
"To think that after writing many an article a man might be excused for thinking tolerably good," he complained to his mother and sister in January 1866, "those New York people should single out a villainous backwoods sketch to compliment me on!--Jim Smiley & His Jumping Frog'--a squib which would never have been written but to please Artemus Ward, & then it reached New York too late to appear in his book" (Clemens 1866).
In a recent study of the role of law clerks in the United States Supreme Court, political scientists Artemus Ward and David L Weiden settle on a new metaphor.
The American humorist Charles Browne visited London in November 1866 to perform his comic lecture "Artemus Ward Among the Mormons" at the Egyptian Hall, Piccadilly.
In his first editorial in the June 1927 Record, Rochester quoted the American humorist Artemus Ward who frequently announced that "he was in show business and therefore had no principles." Rochester assured Record readers that he had principles but hoped that, under him, policy would not be "too fixed and inelastic." He spoke of the time when he represented the Lord's Day Alliance at the General Assembly.
Before getting down to business, he read out a short humorous piece by Artemus Ward, alias Charles Farrar Browne, which deals with a travelling showman running into trouble for exhibiting among his wax figures one of the false disciple Judas Iscariot.
Topics include the telephone and its annoyances ("Mark Twain and the Telephone," published in the New York Times, December 23, 1906), sexual seduction and consent ("Why Not Abolish It?" Harper's Weekly, May 2, 1903), hazing practices at West Point ("Mark Twain on Hazing," the New York Times, January 20, 1901), copyright laws, Artemus Ward, presidential campaigns, England, Bret Harte, the author's appreciation of the Millicent Library in Fairhaven, Massachusetts, work habits ("Mark Twain on His Methods of Work," the Bombay Gazette, January 23, 1896), Shakespeare, crime in the western territories, travel by railroad, travel by sea, children, and laziness.
Comic paragraphs from his Tribune column, "Odds and Ends," formed his first book, The Tribune Primer (1882), journalistic joking in the tradition of Artemus Ward and Josh Billings.
Inslee quoted Artemus Ward, who said, "Let us all be happy and live within our means, even if we have to borrow the money to do it with."
Typical of the style of humor favored by Americans of the period was that of Charles Farrar Browne, who wrote under the name of Artemus Ward. His writings began as newspaper columns in 1857, and in 1861 some of them were collected in Artemus Ward, His Book.
Writers who wrote behind the mask of another identity excerpted here include Benjamin Franklin (Silence Dogood, Busy-Body), Philip Freneau (Tomo Cheeki), James Russell Lowell (Hosy Biglow), Charles Farrar Browne (Artemus Ward), Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain), Joel Chandler Harris (Uncle Remus), Sherwood Anderson (Buck Fever).
He was a representative of American humor at its most characteristic, a direct follower of <IR> BILL NYE </IR> , <IR> ARTEMUS WARD </IR> , and <IR> MARK TWAIN </IR> .
He was influenced, in turn, by Artemus Ward, Bret Harte, Augustus Baldwin Longstreet, and G.
After working for several New England newspapers, Browne moved to Ohio, where he contributed his first Artemus Ward letters to the Cleveland Plain Dealer in 1858.
"I have already given two cousins to the war,' quipped humorist Artemus Ward, "and I stand reddy to sacrifiss my wife's brother.
It is more a history of the times than a biography of the people, as seen through Walt Whitman, Artemus Ward, Ada Clare, Edwin Booth, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Alfred Bierstadt, Mark Twain, and others less remembered but just as interesting, as well as those connected with them.