protagonist


Also found in: Dictionary, Legal, Encyclopedia, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for protagonist

leading character

Synonyms

Synonyms for protagonist

the main performer in a theatrical production

Synonyms for protagonist

References in periodicals archive ?
At this point, the protagonist is on the brink of personal happiness.
Symptomatic begins where Caucasia ostensibly ends, with the protagonist Birdie's poignant recognition of another girl who is "black like her" in the San Francisco Bay area.
However, while Il serpente's opening scene clearly displays a certain awareness of language and Otherness in the child protagonist, I would argue that it also reveals a lack of completion in the process of primal repression and of accession to the Symbolic Order.
The kids range in age from seven to ten, and they can identify a book's protagonist and antagonist, characterize its setting, isolate the climax, and dig out underlying themes.
The protagonist Margaret Damien is presented from multiple perspectives and is constructed as an evil character.
The opening chapters of the narrative brim with intrigue as we find our principal protagonist running for city councilman in a small Texas town, Clemens.
As her main protagonist retraces the steps of her predecessors, the author writes with her soul in musical evocations as well as in the musicality and eclecticism of her melodious, rhythmic and sensual prose filled with rhymes, repetitions and musical echoes, embracing the Blues and the Jazz in the vein of Jean Toomer, Langston Hughes, James Baldwin or Ishmael Reed.
In some ways my protagonist is like Marcello Mastroianni in La Dolce Vita, which is one of my favorite films.
McInerney's story of a man jaded from his job, failed marriage, and life in general uses the you address to its protagonist to emphasize an existence dictated from the outside, an appropriate and effective narrative mode considering the novel's critique of the consumer culture of the 1980s.
He is opposed by a marginalised protagonist (Harry Potter), who is aided by a group of secondary heroes (Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley).
The novel's protagonist, who remains anonymous until almost the end, is an Argentine anthropologist living in New York.
In any narrative text, Claude Bremond reminds us, there is some form of communication or experience that involves a protagonist (Bremond 390).
The US Food and Drug Administration has granted Newark, California-based peptide-based drugs developer Protagonist Therapeutics, Inc.
The story's unnamed protagonist and narrator starts out as a self-described "thirteen-year-old boy" who is emotionally receptive to exploring close relationships, even at the expense of acquaintanceships.