battle of Thermopylae


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
  • noun

Synonyms for battle of Thermopylae

a famous battle in 480 BC

References in periodicals archive ?
Both ancient and modern historians have used the Battle of Thermopylae as the classic example of the power of a patriotic army defending native soil.
The scenario is based on the Greek and Roman mythologies such as Acis and Galatea, Battle of Thermopylae and Hercules and players receive oracles from mythological figures to find out hidden truths or are led to experience heroic events.
The Greek historian, Herodotus, wrote of the Spartan commander Leonidas, who, at the battle of Thermopylae Pass in 480 B.
Pressfield, the author of a quintet of novels of ancient warfare, chronicles the seminal battle for freedom that took place in 480 BC between Greek citizen-soldiers and the Persian infantry: the battle of Thermopylae.
While it's perfectly natural that modern Marines would find inspiration in a novel about the epic battle of Thermopylae, at which 300 selected Spartans and their allies stood against a million-man Persian army, the effect went far beyond being a simple "moto-booster.
The film tells the story of Greek General Themistocles, who led Athens against Persian invaders in a battle that played out simultaneously with the Battle of Thermopylae, depicted in the first film.
Examining the works without elaborate critical models between her and the subjects, Fairey delivers a cogent and enjoyable essay exposing the homophobic and historically duplicitous creative choices that Miller makes in his reimagining of the Battle of Thermopylae.
Fans of Sin City and Frank Miller's comic books will adore this heavily fictionalised recreation of the historic battle of Thermopylae.
It took a while to remove the thread used to sew the stomach together but after I had reenacted the battle of Thermopylae on my plate and looked like an idiot, I managed to get it open and start eating.
On the eve of the battle of Thermopylae, someone asked King Leonidas of Sparta about the risks he and his men faced.
I often tell stories of great battles, like the battle of Thermopylae, to inspire teams who face what appear to be insurmountable odds.
His previous film, 300, took the battle of Thermopylae and re-created it, combining stylized visuals with a feeling for history, culture and character.
In this poem, celebrating the Carbineers' bravery, a clear reference to the Battle of Thermopylae in 480 BC is made.
Influenced by Steven Pressfield's Gates of Fire: An Epic Novel of the Battle of Thermopylae (Doubleday, 1998), Danelo's story seduces the reader by manly deeds and what he refers to as the Spartan way.