battle of Thermopylae


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for battle of Thermopylae

a famous battle in 480 BC

References in periodicals archive ?
35pm Dramatisation of the Battle of Thermopylae in which King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) and an army of 300 Spartans attempt to repel the invasion of the mighty forces of Persian King Xerxes.
Almost 2500 years ago, my ancestors, in August or September of 480 BC, fought the Battle of Thermopylae between an alliance of Greek city-states, led by King Leonidas of Sparta, and the Persian Empire of Xerxes I over the course of three days, during the second Persian invasion of Greece.
The scenario is based on the Greek and Roman mythologies such as Acis and Galatea, Battle of Thermopylae and Hercules and players receive oracles from mythological figures to find out hidden truths or are led to experience heroic events.
The Greek historian, Herodotus, wrote of the Spartan commander Leonidas, who, at the battle of Thermopylae Pass in 480 B.
Pressfield, the author of a quintet of novels of ancient warfare, chronicles the seminal battle for freedom that took place in 480 BC between Greek citizen-soldiers and the Persian infantry: the battle of Thermopylae.
While it's perfectly natural that modern Marines would find inspiration in a novel about the epic battle of Thermopylae, at which 300 selected Spartans and their allies stood against a million-man Persian army, the effect went far beyond being a simple "moto-booster.
In 480 BC, King Leonidas of Sparta in the battle of Thermopylae, led his army of 7,000 against an estimated 300,000 highly trained Persians under Xerxes I.
The film tells the story of Greek General Themistocles, who led Athens against Persian invaders in a battle that played out simultaneously with the Battle of Thermopylae, depicted in the first film.
Examining the works without elaborate critical models between her and the subjects, Fairey delivers a cogent and enjoyable essay exposing the homophobic and historically duplicitous creative choices that Miller makes in his reimagining of the Battle of Thermopylae.
Another was reading an excellent work of historical fiction about the Battle of Thermopylae and decided to e-mail the author to ask how much of his book was factual.
Fans of Sin City and Frank Miller's comic books will adore this heavily fictionalised recreation of the historic battle of Thermopylae.
A hyper-real, computer-manipulated version of the Spartan last stand at the Battle of Thermopylae, 300, was a huge commercial success that brought bastardised Herodotus to an unsuspecting generation of 14- and 15-year-olds.
It took a while to remove the thread used to sew the stomach together but after I had reenacted the battle of Thermopylae on my plate and looked like an idiot, I managed to get it open and start eating.
On the eve of the battle of Thermopylae, someone asked King Leonidas of Sparta about the risks he and his men faced.