Josh Billings


Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
Related to Josh Billings: Henry Wheeler Shaw
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
Legend
Synonym
Antonym
Related
  • noun

Synonyms for Josh Billings

United States humorist who wrote about rural life (1818-1885)

References in periodicals archive ?
Before you start proving the likes of Josh Billings wrong - and a growing army of frustrated critics right.
A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself," according to Josh Billings.
I must admit that in dealing with the future, a most dangerous subject, I have tried to keep in mind the sage counsel I recently stumbled upon in a quote attributed to Josh Billings, who advised: "Don't ever prophesy: for if you prophesize wrong, nobody will forget it; and if you prophesize right, nobody will remember it.
Humorist Josh Billings wrote, "One of the rarer things a man ever does is to do the best he can.
Josh Billings, His Sayings by Henry Wheeler Shaw, rural apostle of horse sense, was published with the assistance of Charles Farrar Browne (Artemus Ward).
Born in Massachusetts, Shaw was professedly a Yankee, who in his essays and lectures created for his Josh Billings an amusing family of Yankee characters.
Among his other writings are Josh Billings on Ice and Other Things (1868), Josh Billings ' Struggling with Things (1881), and Josh Billings, His Works Complete (4 vols, 1888).
THE ANSWER IS: JOSH BILLINGS THE QUESTION IS: What do you call invoices from gag writers?
Comic paragraphs from his Tribune column, "Odds and Ends," formed his first book, The Tribune Primer (1882), journalistic joking in the tradition of Artemus Ward and Josh Billings.
The humor itself was varied, sometimes in the vein of the Southwestern yarn spinners, sometimes in that of contemporaneous humorists such as Artemus Ward and Josh Billings, who chiefly used burlesque and parody and other verbal devices.