game show

(redirected from Game shows)
Also found in: Dictionary, Wikipedia.
  • noun

Synonyms for game show

a television or radio program in which contestants compete for awards

References in periodicals archive ?
Geronimo is a game show based on the popular tv game, Plinko.
For years, classroom trainers have used game shows like Jeopardy, Family Feud, and Who Wants to Be a Millionaire to review course content.
12 /PRNewswire/ -- GSN, the network for games continues its devotion to the world of game shows with a series of special documentaries airing in the upcoming weeks.
They offer trainers a practical guide to incorporating the excitement and entertainment of game shows into the training classroom to increase participant involvement, information retention, and comprehension.
Now he has a deal with Comedy Central to develop and co-host a game show next season in partnership with Michael Davies, whose credits include ``Who Wants to Be a Millionaire.
A month later Jay Wolpert (my producer and great friend for 20 years) called to tell me that he'd sold two game shows and asked if I felt well enough to direct them both.
The new site features weekly live game shows and has given away over $20,000 in cash prizes this past month.
Dotto, hosted by Jack Narz, was one of the major game shows affected by the game show fixing scandal of the 1950's.
Ultimate Tournament of Champions," pop icon Ken Jennings hung on to win the title of "Game Show Contestant of the Year" in voting for the 2005 Game Show Congress Awards.
According to ``The Encyclopedia of TV Game Shows,'' which Schwartz co-authored, the sports-themed game shows that evolved during the '60s and '70s drew many more athletes, especially with the Dick Enberg-hosted ``Sports Challenge.
Like those Mexican game shows-cum-variety shows where they meet famous people, do a bit of a game show thing, and have a singer on.
However, at 24 percent, online gaming emerged as the clear second choice -- outranking packaged software games (18 percent) and TV game shows (15 percent).
The final drawing for on-air contestants and at- home players for the remaining game shows was conducted during the first week of May 2004.
I was on the 'Price is Right' before and I just like game shows,'' said Master Sgt.
13 /PRNewswire/ -- In celebration of the revival of one of America's all-time favorite game shows LET'S MAKE A DEAL, Game Show Network (GSN) is presenting an hour long special that features the never-before-seen 1963 pilot of LET'S MAKE A DEAL with host Monty Hall airing three times on Tuesday, March 4 at 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT, 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT and Midnight ET/9:00 PM PT.