disaster area

(redirected from Federal disaster area)
Also found in: Dictionary, Acronyms.
Related to Federal disaster area: State of disaster
  • noun

Words related to disaster area

a region whose population is affected by a general disaster

Related Words

References in periodicals archive ?
vehicle history reports at a 15 percent discount for all consumers in the counties recently declared federal disaster areas.
The affected counties include Santa Barbara, Ventura, Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Orange, Riverside, and San Diego in the declared state and federal disaster area.
26, President Clinton declared Los Angeles County a federal disaster area.
Three weeks later, severe flooding affected the Southeastern suburbs of Cuyahoga County, which was later declared a federal disaster area.
Be Aware of Federally Declared Disasters: If the president of the United States declares your area a federal disaster area, you may be entitled to additional tax relief.
Meanwhile, the Small Business Administration approved the state's request to declare the Bernat Mill a federal disaster area.
UXBRIDGE - As state and federal fire investigators combed through twisted and smoldering mountains of wreckage and ruins yesterday to find the cause of Saturday's fast-moving, multiple-alarm fire that destroyed more than 80 percent of the historic Bernat Mill complex, state and local officials worked quickly to have the site declared a federal disaster area.
City officials said the residents may be able to get financial help from the Federal Emergency Management Agency because Los Angeles County has been deemed a federal disaster area.
Fitch has identified two properties in the transaction that were located in the federal disaster area affected by Hurricane Katrina.
The extensions are available for residents and businesses located along the Gulf coast in counties that have been declared a federal disaster area.
CMGMI is very sensitive to the needs of credit unions and their members in the regions that have been declared a federal disaster area by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)," said Brian Shepherd, senior vice president of CMGMI.
PMI will work with lenders and borrowers in regions declared a federal disaster area by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to avoid mortgage delinquency and foreclosure.
But in cases where the President declares a federal disaster area, you may be able to accelerate your deduction by amending your return for the prior tax year.
Thirty-five counties were declared federal disaster areas, and 17 people lost their lives.
Department of Homeland Security, announced on March 13 that three counties in Maine have been declared federal disaster areas.
Full browser ?