disaster area

(redirected from Disaster declaration)
Also found in: Dictionary.
Graphic Thesaurus  🔍
Display ON
Animation ON
  • noun

Words related to disaster area

a region whose population is affected by a general disaster

Related Words

References in periodicals archive ?
When the Secretary of Agriculture issues a disaster declaration to help farmers recover from damages and losses to crops, the Small Business Administration issues a declaration to eligible entities affected by the same disaster," said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA's Field Operations Center East in Atlanta.
We continue to be hopeful that President Obama will approve the state's request for an extension of our Major Disaster Declaration, and provide housing and other assistance to help those who have lost so much so quickly in these devastating fires.
On June 15, President Barack Obama issued a major disaster declaration for Massachusetts, triggering the release of federal funds to help people in Hampden County, which includes Brimfield but not Southbridge or Sturbridge, recover from the severe storms and tornadoes of June 1.
He should also prepare to issue another disaster declaration for this year's salmon season restrictions.
This act establishes the process for requesting a presidential disaster declaration, defines the types of relief that are available for relief expenditures, and also defines the conditions for obtaining assistance.
Mills issued the following statement after the announcement of the Presidential disaster declaration for several counties in Mississippi that were affected by the severe storms, tornadoes, high winds and flooding that occurred from April 15-28, 2011:
The disaster declaration includes the following counties: Broward, Glades, Hendry, Martin, Okeechobee and Palm Beach inFlorida .
The disaster declaration covers the North Carolina counties of Bertie, Bladen, Cumberland, Halifax, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Wake and Wilson, which are eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA.
The disaster declaration includes all counties inIllinois except for Lake;the counties of Clinton, Des Moines, Jackson, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine and Scott inIowa ; and Cape Girardeau, Clark, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, Mississippi, Perry, Pike, Ralls, Saint Charles, Saint Louis, Saint Louis City, Sainte Genevieve and Scott inMissouri .
These EIDLs are available due to a disaster declaration for drought and excessive heat from June 1 through Aug.
Under SBA's disaster declaration, fishermen, fish industry businesses and businesses dependent on the fishing economy may apply for low-interest federal disaster loans until July 24.
The second amendment would reduce the federal share for assistance when a state or local government does not complete the processing of eligible disaster assistance claims within three years of a disaster declaration.
Mills issued the following statement after the announcement of the Presidential disaster declaration for the entire state of Connecticut, which was affected by Tropical Storm Irene beginning on Aug.
The disaster declaration includes the following counties: Colbert, Franklin, Lamar, Lauderdale, Marion, Mobile, Pickens and Sumter inAlabama.
The state of Massachusetts is still waiting for its official disaster declaration, even though Gov.
Full browser ?